Michael Penta

Graduate Student
Doctoral Student Affiliate
Research Grant Recipient

Eduardo Viola

Former Visiting Fellow
Invited Speaker
Working Paper Author

Carlos Gervasoni

PhD Fellow
Dissertation Yr Fellow
Doctoral Student Affiliate
Research Grant Recipient
Former Graduate Student
Working Paper Author

Pavão Wins Shaheen Graduate School Award for Social Science

Kellogg Dissertation Year Fellow Nara Pavão has won the 2016 Eli J. and Helen Shaheen Graduate School Award, the highest honor bestowed on Notre Dame graduate students. A Brazilian Fulbright PhD Fellow who received her PhD in political science in August 2015, Pavão accepted the award in the social science category during a ceremony on May 13.

Faculty Fellow Scott Mainwaring, who advised Pavão’s dissertation, called it one of the best he has supervised in his 33 years at Notre Dame.

Kellogg Students Win Fulbright and Boren Awards

Five undergraduates affiliated with the Kellogg Institute have won prestigious national awards for international study, research, and teaching. Three were named Fulbright Finalists and two were awarded Boren Scholarships.

“We could not be more delighted,” says Assistant Director Holly Rivers, who manages Kellogg undergraduate programs. “Our students have done exceptional work.”

Faculty Fellow Wins ACLS Fellowship to Conduct Research in Brazil

Faculty Fellow Christopher Ball has won a 2016 American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) fellowship that will allow him to study the local history and culture of an indigenous tribe in Brazil through connections between the local language and nearby rivers.

A linguistic and cultural anthropologist, Ball will spend time next year on and around the Xingu River in northern Brazil with the Wauja, an indigenous tribe that lives in a protected part of the rainforest.

Life After Dictatorship: Authoritarian Successor Parties Worldwide

Democratization the Focus of Two Scholarly Gatherings

Democracy in Brazil and the phenomenon of “authoritarian successor parties” around the world were the focus of two dynamic Kellogg gatherings of social scientists co-organized by Faculty Fellow Scott Mainwaring in spring 2015. Held back-to-back in April, each drew what one participant called “a virtual who’s who” of scholars in the field.

Monday, 20 April 2015 (All day)

Thirty Years of Democracy in Brazil: A Research Workshop

Scott Mainwaring
Ann Mische
David Samuels
Eduardo Viola
Fernando Bizzarro Neto
Stefanie Israel
Nara Pavão
Maggie Shum
José Antonio Cheibub
Andréa Freitas
Bruno Reis
Bruno Hoepers
Mariana Borges Silva
Renato Lima de Oliveira
Danilo Medeiros
Umberto Mignozzetti
Lucas Novaes
Tiago Peterlevitz
Beatriz Rey
Guilherme Russo
Thiago Silva
Hesburgh Center C103

Kellogg Institute Grants